I had just completed college and was at the threshold of starting a job, settling down into a routine and doing what most adults do once ‘done’ with education. But having wanderlust in my veins, I wanted to travel, explore and expand my horizons so to speak. I decided to back pack to Europe. I wanted to live out my dream of visiting foreign lands and guess what, my parents agreed!

It’s true when they say, travel leaves you speechless and then you turns into a storyteller. So yes, I have stories and tales that are funny on hindsight and nerve racking, but I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world. So when I bought my ticket to Paris, that being my port of entry I had to apply for a Schengen visa which allows you to travel in most countries under the EU seamlessly. My father ensured that I had a travel card that I could top up wherever and whenever I wanted, and could actually load multiple currencies on it. It was safe, convenient and the best way to travel, instead of worrying about cash, theft and all of that. The prepaid travel card allowed me to do a host of things including check my balance, transaction history, and even block a stolen card. This was fantastic.

“Have you got your travel insurance done?” my father asked and I thought to myself, “dude what’s the need for a travel insurance?” That was the first and last time I ever thought that travel insurance was unnecessary.

  • Amsterdam airport – I was lost without my back pack. It was everything, my life in a back pack. But the travel insurance that I had bought was so helpful. I made a call to their emergency number and within a couple of hours I had emergency money transferto cover for expenses. A slight disruption, but that travel insurance sure helped.
  • Venice – After 15 days of travelling and eating in strange lands, my stomach decided to do its own number. I was ill and had to see a local doctor. Remember medical consultation can cost you an arm and a leg, especially if you’re on a budget, and many doctors abroad won’t even entertain you if you’re not insured. Guess who came to my rescue? Travel insurance again. Hallelujah!
  • Florence – I was travelling by the night train from Venice to Florence. When the train chugged into the station in the morning, to my horror I found that my wallet was stolen, and all my cards, money, change, everything gone. Thankfully my passport was intact and I had my phone on me. The first thing I did was report the loss to the railway authorities and then made a call to my insurance company. After which I reported lossof my travel card to the service provider. In a few minutes I was asked to visit a particular branch and got my travel card and my insurance provider promised me to reimburse me for my loss within a day or two. I had emergency money and I was saved.

What’s a trip abroad without incident, that’d be so boring!

You’d have realised by now that having a prepaid travel card with multi-currency facilities and most importantly buying travel insurance is a life-saver. Go for travel insurance policies that will cover you against incidents like trip cancellation or curtailment, medical issues, and lost or stolen possessions.  By the way, it will serve you well to know that certain multi-purpose travel card providers such as gocash, provide free travel insurance.

So the next time you’re planning a trip abroad, ensure that you’re insured. Take it from someone who knows a thing or two about travel.

